Tribes by Confederacy

There are well over 1,000 native American indian tribes in the United States and Canada.

Learn how these tribes are related to each other, which tribes joined together for political alliances, warfare, and peace keeping venues, or have historical roots together.


Caddoan Confederacy

Franco-Indian Alliance – Was an alliance between American Indians and the French, centered on the Great Lakes and the Illinois country during the French and Indian War(1754–1763).

Haudenosaunee Confederacy, Iroquois League – See Iroquois Confederacy

Hasinai confederacy (Caddo) 

Huron Confederacy

Illini Confederacy – See Illinois Confederacy

Miami Confederacy – See Western Confederacy

Monacan Confederacy





Tutelo Confederacy



Wabanaki Confederacy

Wappinger Confederacy – Sold Manhattan Island to the Dutch

Wyandot Confederacy


Article Index:

Abenaki Tribes

“Abenaki” is a linguistic and geographic grouping. Historically there was not a strong central authority, but as listed below a large number of smaller bands and tribes who shared many cultural traits.

Apache Nations

They call themselves Inde, or Nide “the people”.

The Apache Indians are divided into six sub-tribes
Chihenne….Chi-hen-ne, (Ojo Caliente), (Hot Springs) Apaches
Chokonen….Cho-kon-en, Chiricahua Apache
White Mountain Apache

Blackfoot Confederacy

The Blackfoot Confederacy consists of four different tribes, the Pikuni/Peigan, North Peigan Pikuni, Blood/Kainai, and Blackfoot/Siksika.

Members of the Blackfoot Confederation presently live in Montana, the United States and Alberta, Canada. When the Canadian government/British Crown sought to enter into a treaty with the Niitsitapi (the Real People), they made initial contact with the Siksika who lived on the north and northeastern frontiers of Niitsitapiskaku.


They made the wrong assumption that all Niitsitapi were Blackfoot. The Niitsitapi are Ahpikuni (Peigan), Southern Ahpikuni (Montana Blackfeet), Ahkainah (Bloods) and Siksika (Blackfoot).

Originally the Blackfoot Confederacy was a Plains confederacy which consisted of three peoples (“nation”, “tribes”, “tribal nations”) based on kinship and dialect, but all speaking a common language, Blackfoot. These were the Piikáni (historically called “Piegan Blackfeet” in English-language sources), the Káínaa (called “Bloods”), and the Siksikáwa (“Blackfoot”).

They later allied with the unrelated Tsuu T’ina (“Sarcee”) who became merged into the Blackfoot Confederacy and, (for a time) with Atsina (Gros Ventres).

Cahuilla Tribes
California Mission Indians
Chippewa’s of the Iron Confederation (Ojibway Indians of California)
Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians
Copper Inuit Subgroups
Council of Three Fires Confederacy
Creek Confederacy
Five Civilized Tribes
Florida Mission Indians
Illinois Confederacy
Iroquois Confederacy
O’odham Tribes
Powhatan Confederacy
Relationship of american indian tribes to tribes mentioned in the Bible
Salish Tribes
Shawnee Tribes
Tecumseh’s Confederacy
Tejas (Caddo) Confederacy
The Seneca Confederacy
Tribes of the Great Sioux Nation
Wabanaki Confederacy: Abenaki, Míkmaq,Maliseet, Penobscot, Passamaquoddy
Western Confederacy
Yocuts Tribes