Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians


Last Updated: 3 years

Each of these tribes has a unique individual history, culture and legal relationship with the federal government, which was brought to be incorporated into the Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians. These unique relationships were formed through treaties, laws, agreements and executive orders. Before this legal/political intervention, each was a separate tribe with, in many instances, many sub-tribes and individual villiages under each tribal designation.


  • Alsea
  • Clatsop
  • Chetco (including all of the villages from Whales Head to the Winchuck River)
  • Chinook
  • Coos
  • Coquelle
  • Galice/Applegate
  • Kalapuya
  • Klickitat
  • Molala
  • Takelma (including the Illinois Valley/mid-Rogue River and Cow Creek peoples)
  • Tillamook
  • Tolowa
  • Shasta
  • Siuslaw/Lower Umpqua
  • Tututni (including all the lower Rogue River Bands and those extending up the coast to Floras Creek and down to Whales Head)
  • Upper Umpqua