Wabanaki Confederacy: Abenaki, Míkmaq,Maliseet, Penobscot, Passamaquoddy


Last Updated: 1 year

The Wabanaki Confederacy (Waponahkiyik) was between five Algonquian tribes: the Abenaki, Míkmaq (Mi’kmaq or Micmac), Penobscot (Penawapskewi), Passamaquoddy (Pestomuhkati), and Maliseet (Wolastoqiyik or Malicite) tribes.

Wabanaki (Dawnland) is the name of a geographical area, now called the New England states of Maine, Vermont and New Hampshire, and the Canadian Maritimes now called Nova Scotia and New Brunswick. 

The Wabanakis were closely allied with the Innu and Algonquin, and with the Iroquoian-speaking Wyandot. With the 1749 treaty, Great Britain also joined the Wabanaki Confederacy. 

The Wabanaki Confederacy disbanded in 1862, but the five Wabanaki nations still exist, and they remain friends and allies today.