State Recognized Tribes

List of States Who Have State Recognized Indian Tribes

There are more than 100 state recognized indian tribes in sixteen states. These are Native American groups with self-government authority.

They are in Alabama, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Montana, New Jersey, New York,North Carolina, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, and Washington.

What are State Recognized Tribes?

State recognized tribes are Indian tribes and heritage groups that are recognized by individual states for their various internal state government purposes.

State recognition does not confer benefits under federal law unless federal law authorizes such benefits, as is the case for state recognized tribes under the Administration for Native American’s Native American Programs Act (NAPA).

State recognized Indian tribes are not federally recognized, but federally recognized tribes may also be state recognized.

State Recognized Tribes do not have the same status or benefits as Federally Recognized Tribes

As of January 3, 2012, the United States recognized 566 Indian tribes on the federal level. Federal recognition confers specific legal status on tribes and imposes certain responsibilities on the federal government, such as an obligation to provide certain benefits to tribes and their members.

Some tribes are not federally recognized but have qualified for and received federal funding. Some of these non-federally recognized tribes are state recognized and may be located on state reservations.

Of the approximately 400 non-federally recognized tribes, 26 received funding from 24 federal programs during fiscal years 2007 through 2010. Most of the 26 non-federally recognized tribes were eligible to receive this funding either because of their status as nonprofit organizations or state-recognized tribes.

Ninety-five percent of the funding was awarded to 9 non-federally recognized tribes, and most of that funding was awarded to the Lumbee Tribe of North Carolina.

Similarly, 95% of the funding was awarded by seven programs in four agencies, and most of that funding was awarded by the Department of Housing and Urban Development program.

What benefits do state recognized tribes get?

There are 34 federal programs that have explicit statutory or regulatory authority to fund state-recognized tribes, tribes on state reservations, or tribes on or in proximity to a state reservation or rancheria. 

Some of these same programs are also available to non-Indians whose income is at the poverty level, such as the Food Stamp Program, Weatherization Assistance for Low-Income Persons Program, Low-Income Home Energy Assistance, etc.

Alphabetical list of state recognized tribes of the United States A to B

Here is an alphabetical list of profiles of state recognized tribes of the United States from A to Z. Links to tribal profile pages are at the bottom of the page.


State Recognized and Unrecognized Cherokee tribes



Article Index:

Lenni-Lenape Tribe in Limbo As NJ Does Double Take On State Recognition

Law360, New York (February 16, 2016, 3:13 PM EST) — A suit by a New Jersey tribe claiming the state has reneged on its official acknowledgment of the group illustrates the confusion that can crop up around state recognition as tribes navigate a state’s particular process to achieve and maintain that status for the sake of potentially uncertain benefits.