Affiliated Tribes and Tribal Alliances
alaskan natives ancient indian civilizations US indian tribes Canada First Nations native american pow wows native american music shop for native american gifts american indians
native american indian tribes
  native american indian tribes of the US

 affiliated tribes
tribal alliances

Artifact Replicas|Jewelry|Clothing|Figurines|On Sale|New Products
What's New

Affiliated Tribes and Tribal Alliances Index

Modern Indian tribes out of necessity have developed the ability to live in two worlds, that of traditional culture and the dominant society. Today, many tribes have "affiliated" in the modern world, while still retaining their ancient tribal identities.

The Three Affiliated Tribes are an alliance made up of the Mandan Indians, Hidatsa Indians and the Arikara nation. They are located at the Fort Berthold Reservation in North Dakota.

The Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians is an organization made up of the tribes living in southeast Alaska, Washington, Oregon, northern California, Idaho, Nevada, and western Montana.

The term Five Civilized Tribes is the name commonly given to the five major tribes of the southeastern part of the United States: the Cherokees, Chickasaws, Choctaws, Muskogee Confederation (Creeks), and Seminoles.

The Iroquois Confederacy dates back to the 1600's and the US system of democracy was based on their system of rule. The Iroquois Confederacy is a political union of North American Indian nations who acted (and act) in war and peace, in trade alliances and treaties of goodwill, as a single nation. This alliance was originally between the Mohawk, Oneida, Onondaga, Cayuga and Seneca, but later the Tuscaroras joined their league. The English called the original alliance the the Five Indian Nations.

The Three Affiliated Tribes of Fort Berthold are the Arikara, Hidatsa and Mandan Indians.

The Anishinabe were once one large tribe. Later they split into the tribes of the Three Council Fires. The Chippewa (Ojibwa) were to become the oldest brother and the Keepers of the Faith. The Ottawa (Odawa), the middle brother, was to become the Keepers of the Trade, and the Potawatomi (Bodewadmi) the youngest brother was to become Keeper of the Fire.

The Wabanaki Confederacy, also known as the Eastern Confederacy, was a coalition of five Algonquian tribes of the eastern seaboard, banded together in response to Iroquois aggression. The Abenaki, Penobscot, Maliseet, Passamaquoddy, and the Mi'kmaq each retained their own political leadership, but collaborated on broader issues such as diplomacy, war, and trade. The confederation officially disbanded in 1862, but the five tribes remain close allies, and the Wabanaki Confederacy lives on in the form of a political alliance between these historically friendly nations.

The Wichita & Affiliated Tribes includes the Wichita, Waco, Tawakonie and Keechi alliance.

See also Related Tribes and Confederated Tribes.

  • Affilated Tribes of Northwest Indians

    • Alaska
      • Metlakatla Indian Tribe
      • Organized Village of Kasaan
      • Tlingit & Haida Indian Tribes
    • California
      • Hoopa Valley Tribe
    • Idaho
      • Coeur DíAlene Tribe
      • Kootenai Tribes of Idaho
      • Nez Perce Tribe
      • Northwestern Band of Shoshone Nation
      • Shoshone-Bannock Tribes
    • Montana
      • Blackfeet Nation
      • Confederated Salish & Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Reservation
    • Nevada
      • Shoshone-Paiute Tribes
    • Oregon
      • Burns Paiute Tribe
      • Confederated Tribes of the Coos, Lower Umpqua & Siuslaw Indians
      • Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde Community
      • Confederated Tribes of the Siletz Reservation
      • Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation
      • Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs
      • Coquille Tribe
      • Cow Creek Band of the Umpqua Indians
      • Klamath Tribes
    • Washington
      • Confederated Tribes of the Chehalis Reservation
      • Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation
      • Cowlitz Indian Tribe
      • Duwamish Tribe
      • Hoh Indian Nation
      • Jamestown SíKlallam Tribe
      • Kalispel Indian Tribe
      • Lower Elwha Klallam Tribe
      • Lummi Indian Nation
      • Makah Tribe
      • Muckleshoot Tribe
      • Nisqually Tribe
      • Nooksack Tribe
      • Port Gamble SíKlallam Tribe
      • Puyallup Tribe
      • Quileute Tribe
      • Quinault Indian Nation
      • Samish Nation
      • Sauk-Suiattle Tribe
      • Shoalwater Bay Indian Tribe
      • Skokomish Tribe
      • Snohomish Tribe
      • Snoqualmie Tribe
      • Spokane Tribe
      • Squaxin Island Tribe
      • Steilacoom Tribe
      • Stillaguamish Tribe
      • Suquamish Tribe
      • Swinomish Tribe
      • Tulalip Tribes
      • Upper Skagit Tribes
      • Yakama Indian Nation
  • Wichita & Affiliated Tribes
    • Wichita Indians
    • Waco Indians
    • Tawakonie Indians
    • Keechi Indians



Are you ready?

Shop for native american themed crafts and artifact replicas Shop for native american inspired beadworkShop for craft supplies  Shop for wildlife, nautical, and native american inspired jewelry.
  Back to Top |Shipping & Return Policies |Customer Testimonials |Site Map |Affiliate Program |Privacy Policy  |Contact Us | Submissions

Site Designed by:
Mazaska Enterprises, LTD

file: affiliated tribes