Treaties by Year

Complete texts of Native American Indian treaties arranged by year.

By Tribe | A-C | D-L | M-P | Q-S | T-Z
By Year | Acts of CongressAgreements | Executive Orders


Wolf River Treaty of 1854 (Menominee)
1863 Western Shoshone Treaty of Ruby Valley


Article Index:

1778 Treaty with Delaware was first treaty signed by US

The first treaty signed by the United States was with the Delaware (also known as Lenape) at Fort Pitt in 1778.  The Articles of Confederation were adopted between the states a little over a year earlier in 1777, to establish a government independent of British rule. The primary purposes of the treaty with the Delaware was to gain Delaware trade, and political and military alliance on the side of the Americans during the War of Independence. The British likewise sought military and political alliances among the Indian nations to fight against the rebellious Americans.

1784 Treaty with the Six Nations

This is the full text with signees of a 1784 Treaty with the Six Nations signed at Fort Stanwix on October 22, 1784, representing the Senecas, Mohawks, Onondagas,  Cayugas, Oneida and Tuscarora nations. 

1785 Treaty with the Cherokee

Articles concluded at Hopewell, on the Keowee, between Benjamin Hawkins, Andrew Pickens, Joseph Martin, and Lachlan M’Intosh, Commissioners Plenipotentiary of the United States of America, of the one Part, and the Head-Men and Warriors of all the Cherokees of the other signed on November 28, 1785 at Hopewell.

1789 Treaty with the Six Nations
1791 Treaty of Holston (with the Cherokee)
1792 Treaty with the Five Nations
1794 Treaty of Philladelphia (with the Cherokee)
1794 Treaty with the Six Nations
1798 Treaty of Tellico (with the Cherokee)
1804 Tellico Treaty (Cherokee)
1805 Tellico Treaty (Cherokee)
1805 Tellico Treaty 2 (Cherokee)
1806 Washington Treaty (Cherokee)
1816 Turkey Town Treaty (Cherokee)
1816 Washington Treaty (Cherokee)
1816 Washington Treaty 2 (Cherokee)
1817 Treaty with the Cherokee
1818 Treaty with the Peoria, Etc.
1819 Treaty with the Cherokee
1825 Treaty with the Arikara Tribe
1825 Treaty with the Belantse-Etoa or Minitaree Tribe (Hidatsa)
1828 Treaty with the Western Cherokee
1830 Treaty of Prairie du Chien
1832 Treaty With The Appalachicola Band
1833 Fort Gibson Treaty with the Western Cherokee
1833 Treaty with the Apalachicola Band of Creek Indians (Econ-chati-mico)
1833 Treaty with the Apalachicola Band of Creek Indians (Mulatto King)
1835 Treaty of New Echota (Cherokee)
1835 Treaty with the Caddo
1838 Treaty with the New York Indians (Six Nations and St. Regis)
1846 Bear Spring Treaty (Navajo)
1851 Treaty of Fort Laramie with Sioux, etc.
1852 Apache Treaty
1853 Treaty With The Comanche, Kiowa, And Apache
1854 Treaty with the Chasta (Shasta), Etc.
1855 Blackfeet Treaty
1855 Treaty with the Walla Walla, Cayuse, Etc.
1855 Yakama Nation Treaty
1861 Treaty with the Arapaho and Cheyenne
1865 Fort Sully Treaty (Blackfeet-Sioux)
1865 Treaty With The Apache, Cheyenne, And Arapaho
1865 Treaty With The Cheyenne And Arapaho
1866 Fort Berthold Treaty (Arikara, Gros Ventres and Mandan)
1867 Treaty of Medicine Lodge Creek (With The Kiowa, Comanche, and Apache)
1868 Fort Bridger Treaty with the Eastern Band of Shoshone and Bannock
1868 Fort Laramie Treaty with the Sioux and Arapaho
1868 Treaty with the Northern Cheyenne and Northern Arapaho