Here is a list of places to visit in Labrador, Canada to learn about native american culture.
Labrador, Canada Places to Visit
Ferryland is the location of the 17th century Colony of Avalon. Founded by Sir George
Calvert in 1621, this is one of the earliest centers of the fishery on Newfoundland’s shores, and one of the first settlements established in North America. The site is currently being studied and excavated by Dr.
James Tuck of Memorial University of Newfoundland. Excavations are ongoing at the site and you can visit the Colony of Avalon Vistors Center and see some of the thousands of artifacts recovered, and watch as conservators and lab technicians treat the artifacts as they come out of the ground.
Port au Choix National Historic Park
Port au Choix, located on the Great Northern Peninsula, has a rich history dating back at least 5000 years! It is best known for its large Maritime Archaic Indian cemetary (4400 – 3300 BP) which was excavated by Dr. James Tuck in the 1970s and for its very large Palaeo-eskimo seal hunting sites (2800 – 1200 BP) excavated by Dr. Elmer Harp in the 1960s and by Dr. M. A. P. Renouf in the 1980s and 1990s.
The Maritime Archaic living site, which was located after 20 years of searching is currently being excavated by Dr. Renouf and there is also a brand new Interpretation Centre in the Park.
L’Anse aux Meadows
L’Anse aux Meadows was discovered in 1960 by Anne Stine Ingstad and Helge Ingstad. It is the only confirmed Norse settlement in the New World and dates to approximately A.D. 1000. You can visit this National Historic Park and UNESCO World Heritage Site at the tip of the Great Northern Peninsula.
Red Bay, Labrador
The site of a 16th century Basque Whaling station at Red Bay was discovered by Selma Huxley Barkham in the early 1970s. When Red Bay was at its peak between AD 1550 and 1600, it was the largest industrial operation in the New World.
Dr. James Tuck excavated the land site here between 1977 and1992. The underwater site was excavated by Parks Canada from during the late 1970s and 80s. An Interpretation Centre at the site highlights many of the archaeologists’ discoveries.
Fleur de Lys
The Dorset Palaeo-eskimo Soapstone Quarry at Fleur de Lys is the only known
Dorset soapstone quarry in Newfoundland and one of only a handful in the world.
The site is located on a cliff face in Fleur de Lys, at the tip of the Baie Verte Peninsula in north central Newfoundland. A vistors center and interpretive trails are there to inform visitors about the site’s history.
Work has been done at the site in the 1980s and 90s by a number of archaeolgists including Callum Thomson, Chris Nagle and John Erwin.
Cupids is the location of the first official European colony in Newfoundland. The site of John Guy’s plantation, established in 1610 was originally called Cupers Cove, although today the community is known as Cupids. Cupids is located on the Avalon peninsula, east of St. John’s.
Archaeologist Bill Gilbert discovered this very early plantation by consulting John Guy’s journal and other documents relating to the site. Summer visitors can witness the ongoing excavation of the site and visit the Cupids Community Museum to see some of the artifacts.
Located on the southwest corner of the Province, near Port au Basques, the large Dorset Palaeo-eskimo seal hunting site at Cape Ray is one of the most southerly Dorset sites ever found! The site has been the focus of archaeological research several times within the past several decades with work done by Helen Devereux, Urve Linnemae, and Lisa Fogt.
The Beaches site is a multi-component Maritime Archaic, Dorset Palaeo-eskimo, and Recent Indian living site which has been occupied intermittently for the past 5000 years. Paul Carignan worked at the Beaches site in the 1970s and more recently, in the 1990s, the site was the focus of research for Laurie McLean (Burnside Heritage Foundation) and Dr. Michael Deal (Memorial University of Newfoundland).
This is the site of the oldest known mound burial in North America! The site is located on the Labrador side of the Strait of Belle Isle and dates to 7500 years ago. It was excavated by Dr. James Tuck and his crew of students from Memorial University of Newfoundland in 1974. Visitors today can view the site and explore the trail system and interpretive signage.
Boyd’s cove is the site of a substantial Beothuk living site. It is located along the coast in north central Newfoundland, on route to Twillingate and Fogo Island. It was excavated over several seasons in the early 1980s by Dr. Ralph Pastore of Memorial University of Newfoundland. Boyd’s Cove is one of the largest known Beothuk sites in the Province and its occupation may have been made possible by a seasonal European presence in the area, which was a source of raw materials and supplies.
St. John’s Waterfront
Dr. Peter Pope, of Memorial University of Newfoundland, has been working within the downtown area of St. John’s — locating and unearthing the earliest components of the St. John’s waterfront.
Castle Hill National Historic Park
Castle Hill National Historic Park is located at the community of Placentia on the west side of the Avalon Peninsula. The site has reconstructed French and English fortifications and was the former French Capital of Newfoundland.
Visitors to the park may tour the reconstructed Fort and the Interpretation Centre.