Wabanaki Confederacy: Abenaki, Míkmaq,Maliseet, Penobscot, Passamaquoddy

 Wabanaki Confederacy: Abenaki, Míkmaq,Maliseet, Passamaquoddy,Penobscot

Artifact Replicas|Jewelry|Clothing|Figurines|Art Prints|On Sale|Closeouts
What's New

Algonquin territory

Wabanaki Confederacy: Abenaki, Míkmaq, Penobscot, Passamaquoddy, Maliseet

The Wabanaki Confederacy (Waponahkiyik) was between five Algonquian tribes: the Abenaki, Míkmaq (Mi'kmaq or Micmac), Penobscot (Penawapskewi), Passamaquoddy (Pestomuhkati), and Maliseet (Wolastoqiyik or Malicite) tribes. Wabanaki (Dawnland) is the name of a geographical area, now called the New England states of Maine, Vermont and New Hampshire, and the Canadian Maritimes now called Nova Scotia and New Brunswick.

The Wabanakis were closely allied with the Innu and Algonquin, and with the Iroquoian-speaking Wyandot. With the 1749 treaty, Great Britain also joined the Wabanaki Confederacy.

The Wabanaki Confederacy disbanded in 1862, but the five Wabanaki nations still exist, and they remain friends and allies today.

Medicine Wheel
Medicine Wheel Mini Poster
16 in. x 20 in.
Buy at AllPosters.com
Framed   Mounted


Web AAANativeArts.com

Are you ready?

New Products Added to the Store
buy native american checks
Native American Checks

      Native American Home |Back to Top |Webmasters |Alphabetical Site Map |Articles Site Map |InfoWizzard  |Submissions

Site Designed by: Mazaska Web Design
Hosted by: HostIt4You.com

© 1999-2008 AAANativeArts.com

file: wabanaki confederacy